Vancouver Fashion Weak.

24 Nov

There’s always been a negative connotation to words above, Vancouver Fashion Week, anytime I’ve heard someone talk about it I’ve also heard scoffs and laughter about how most thinks it’s a joke and that anyone who truly wants to be involved in the Fashion industry in Vancouver does NOT associate with VFW.

Now that’s a pretty scary thing for someone who wants to be in the industry to hear, so many people have been fooled and worked to the bone for little or no credit or thanks at all. A few weeks ago my friend tweeted about a website she found that helps to expose VFW, and the person who runs it.

I truly am surprised that this website didn’t surface sooner if there have been SO many people who have been burned and felt overburdened by working with and for VFW in the past years. I remember going to a show while I was in school and it didn’t seem very put together, the runway was taped down and noticeable, it started late and had musical and lighting difficulties. I felt terribly sorry for the designer. I did have a weird experience with VFW a few years ago, it was the fall after I had just graduated school and I hadn’t really heard negative things about VFW, I hadn’t really heard much about it general, that probably should have been a sign. Anyways, I had some meetings with the man who runs it and he said he wanted to hire me, but never made it official, he had me help out, as a test, when they were looking for models to join the show. It was terribly unorganized and so many people didn’t know what they were actually there for. It raised a red flag, he said he wanted me to help with a VFW teaser fashion show the following week at a hotel, I really wanted to be involved so I said I would. I was in charge of dressing the models and making sure all the accessories and clothing were accounted for after the show was said and done. He said the show went great and that I did an amazing show and he really wanted me involved, but never contacted me after that day to hire me. It was a strange thing.

Most of you are probably reading this wondering what the heck I’m talking about or maybe some have been involved or have been weirded out by it. I just wanted to write about my experience and post the website so that hopefully somehow we can gather people and contact someone in the city to change and actually start an organized, supported Vancouver Fashion Week. So that people who are passionate about fashion and amazing local designers can be highlighted and recognized in a proper way!

Here’s the website for you to check out yourself,  Vancouver Fashion Weak. There are a lot of upset people so some of the comments are pretty intense and silly.

Leave a Reply

